Once I was – Tim Buckley

Once I was a soldier,
and I fought on foreign sands for you
Once I was a hunter,
and I brought home fresh meat for you
Once I was a lover
and I searched behind your eyes for you
Soon there’ll come another
to tell you I was just a lie.

And, sometimes I wonder,
for a while:
Do you ever remember me?

Though you have forgotten
all of our rubbish dreams,
I find myself searching
through the ashes of our ruins
for the days when we smiled,
and the hours that ran wild
with the magic of our eyes
and the silence of our words.

And, sometimes I wonder,
for a while:
Do you ever remember me?

 

 

She didn’t know what to say. When she heard the song and read the lyrics, there was something broke inside. She remembered him. For a second she felt emptiness, and despair, wondering where he is right now.

 

She wants to be everything for him. But everything she’s tried to be has already been.

Leave a Reply

